This behavior has been surprising users for years now. The reason is some technical issue with automated version control kicking back in correctly after a check out. Nevertheless, I have never investigated whether is can be "reset". If it could it would be a database "hack" and therefore not a practical solution. The only work-around is to restore the document as a new document. Not really a work-around.
Senior Director Client Services, Americas