Posted Fri, 01 Feb 2019 16:21:00 GMT by Will Jenrette

Hello,

I'm preparing a DW 6.12 test environment to test both the upgrade from DW6.12 to DW7 and the new features and functionality of DW7.  My plan is to mirror our current live DW6.12 system, however, I've been hit with a few hurdles.  I built the system from scratch and ran the 'Restore Organization Settings' option.  This however, did not restore all data.  Most notably it excluded the users, groups, and roles.  The data is within the tables, just not in Docuware Administration.  

It has been suggested to attempt a P-to-V restore into our virtual environment.  This should work, however, I have a few concerns regarding a potential mirrored server.  What changes would I need to make to the virtualized test environment to avoid interfering with our live server?  I am new to restoring a physical server to a virtualized environment, so please forgive my ignorance.  As an example, we have an SMTP server connection in Docuware that isn't needed in the test environment.  Is there an issue with having both the live and test environments the same SMTP connection?

Thanks,

-Will

Posted Fri, 01 Feb 2019 16:47:07 GMT by Phil Robson DocuWare Corporation Senior Director Professional Services, Americas

You are going to need to tread very carefully. What database is being used? Is it on the DocuWare server or a separate server?
Where are the documents? On the DocuWare server or a SAN / Network share?
How do you intend to start the VM when it will have the same name as the production server? Different network?
After re-naming the VM the DocuWare services will not start and the database will need to be patched. You will need our help to do that.

Phil Robson
Senior Director Support Americas

Posted Mon, 04 Feb 2019 15:06:20 GMT by Will Jenrette

Thank you for your quick reply, Phil.

We are using MS SQL on a separate server.  The documents are on the local Docuware server.