Posted Wed, 28 Oct 2020 18:03:13 GMT by Steve Shriver Application Specialist
A user edits a document during a workflow task assigned to her. The document then returns to another user in another task. The second user is then unable to confirm the task and a 'document locked by another user' error message is thrown.

In one particular case the document has remained locked for a week despite the editing user having signed out and powered off the PC.

Is there a way to unlock a document when locked in this way?

Is there a specific way to handle this kind of editing operation in a workflow?

Is the lock option of the result list in File Cabinet configuration the only way to allow this kind of editing?

Thanks,
Posted Wed, 28 Oct 2020 18:04:15 GMT by Matthias Wieland DocuWare Europe GmbH Sr. Director Support EMEA
Dear Steve Shriver! It looks like the Community cannot answer your question. That's why we have opened a Support Request with the Number SR-137728-X3Z9H for you. A Software Support Specialist will contact you directly to follow up. We will update this thread with the solution as soon as we have resolved the Support Request. With best regards, DocuWare Support Team
Posted Wed, 04 Nov 2020 18:14:55 GMT by Jon Weston File IT Solutions Sr Application Developer, RIM specialist
I have yet to find a solution for this too Steve, so if you hear back from Support please update this thread.
Posted Wed, 04 Nov 2020 19:28:54 GMT by Steve Shriver Application Specialist
Jon,
I did hear from support and it did resolve the issue. See below...
 

There's a few things that could be causing this behavior, but after reading your description, I think the first thing to check is that there isn't a file stuck in the temp/edit folder. It could be the case that a folder isn't deleting from within there, causing the document to remain locked.

If the user is editing the document, perhaps there is still a lock being held onto from the machine they're on.
You can check %temp%\Edit from their local computer, to see whether there is still a folder here. When documents are edited, an entry is created here which stores the temporary file, and this normally should be deleted once brought back into DocuWare.
If this is still there, then this could be the reason for the lock being persistent despite the user closing and shutting down. You can safely delete anything within the temp and edit folder.

You must be signed in to post in this forum.