Publicado Wed, 23 May 2018 19:28:02 GMT por Grupo Terra

I've been wondering if it's possible to assign a task to a group of users in a workflow.

It should appear in everyone's tasks, but if any one user completes it, then the task should dissappear for all users. This is useful when it doesn't matter which user processes a request.

Is this possible?

In the workflow designer, the "Assign to" tab in a task does not seem to support this. Maybe I'm missing something.

So far, I've used Lists, but maybe it's possible with the workflow manager.

Thanks,

Chris

Publicado Wed, 23 May 2018 19:45:32 GMT por Joe Kaufman Bell Laboratories Inc Senior System Architect

Chris,

When someone completes the Task, doesn't whatever condition that added it to the List change such that the document no longer appears in the List?

If, for example, a List was built with the condition Status = "Pending", and then a different user changes the Status to "Complete", it should drop off any List depending on the "Pending" value.

I am not sure about Workflow. I would assume once a Workflow completes that that Task would no longer show up on anyone's list...?

 

Thanks,

Joe Kaufman

Publicado Wed, 23 May 2018 20:15:13 GMT por Jon Weston File IT Solutions Sr Application Developer and RIM specialist

Hi Chris, the good news is that yes, you are definitely missing something: by using both the "Assign to" tab of a task and the "Assign to" workflow component you are able to assign a task to a Role or a Variable.  The easiest way to do what you want is to create a role that contains all the users you want to have the task assigned to and then use the "Assign to" workflow component to assign the task to that role.  As soon as the task is completed by any of the users it will be removed from all their task lists.

Publicado Wed, 23 May 2018 20:56:35 GMT por Grupo Terra

Excelent! Thanks!

You must be signed in to post in this forum.